Wicked Songs: The Weeping Song by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Well following that killer cover version by Sun Kil Moon in my last post is the original track and great live version too. This is a totally classic and one of The Bad Seeds greatest, Cave’s song writing at it’s best, It wasn’t until the recording studio when Cave changed the lyrics around for Blixa Bargeld to sing it with him as a duet. If you don’t know it’s from the album called  The Good Son, this song would have to be my fave track from that album followed by Sorrow’s Child which is the song before it on that record. It was 1990, beginning of the greatest decade, well I grew up in it so off course I’m going to say that!

It was recorded in Brazil when Nick was living there at the time and Blixa mainly remembers the studio being non-smoking which drove everyone mad because they all still smoked back then. This would have been round the time I discovered him, the first time was the video for The Mercy Seat from the previous album. The video clip made at the time for The Weeping Song  is one of the  most enjoyable Bad Seeds ones to watch still even today, both dancing like gay business men as he put it on the DVD, in a fake boat on black plastic singing dressed up the church minsters. The lyrics are all about everyone’s eyes leaking  but it’s to a up-tempo beat to make it all not too depressing which it is off course so that’s another reason to love it.

The Weeping Song lyrics written by Nick Cave

Go son, go down to the water
And see the women weeping there
Then go up into the mountains
The men, they are weeping too

Father, why are all the women weeping?
They are weeping for their men
Then why are all the men there weeping?
They are weeping back at them

This is a weeping song
A song in which to weep
While all the men and women sleep
This is a weeping song
But I won’t be weeping long

Father, why are all the children weeping?
They are merely crying son
Oh, are they merely crying, father?
Yes, true weeping is yet to come

This is a weeping song
A song in which to weep
While all the men and women sleep
This is a weeping song
But I won’t be weeping long

Oh father tell me, are you weeping?
Your face seems wet to touch
Oh then I’m so sorry, father
I never thought I hurt you so much

This is a weeping song
A song in which to weep
While we rock ourselves to sleep
This is a weeping song
But I won’t be weeping long
No I won’t be weeping long
No I won’t be weeping long
No I won’t be weeping long

I had a chance to see them do this four times live which is not bad really, how many times have you? Last time was on Blixa’s last tour ever which we didn’t know at the time. Since Bargeld leaving The Bad Seeds Cave done it live solo like by himself singing both parts but it’s not the same really, I’ve seen him do it twice like that which was on the tour after Blixa left which he dedicate to him and the last Aussie “Solo” tour too on his grand piano. It was so great to see them back together in 20,000 Days movie too.

The best time without Blixa was when Mark Lanegan taken the role of the father to sing at the Red Hill show in 2013 which is the gig I got right down the front for but more about that later, I think I’ll going write some posts here about what I remember about my fave live gigs I’ve attended in past as a bit of record. I’ve got the best YouTube clip above I can find here of that live version because I have to post it here above because it’s at Bad Seeds show it’s just with Lanegan making his special cameo appears so you can’t call it another cover. This is a bit of a live performs history of The Weeping Song too well the ones I’ve seen. I loved it when they use to do it together, those first four times but it even more sad just him doing by himself because it just remind me that he’s gone but amazing to see Mark do it. It seems Nick & Mark have done it a few times live now but I’ll just like to point out this was the first time.

Mark Lanegan has sung three tracks on the Lawless soundtrack too a few years back. They could do some more soundtrack work together, that would be pretty cool if they did that, they seem like a pretty prefect match but if not we do have something well four things! So the main image is Mark Lanegan singing and Warren Ellis playing The Weeping Song at the soundcheck in Perth at Red Hill Auditorium.

429190_10151354892148034_1033510867_n

Leave a Reply

