Cover Verisons: Bee Gees’ I Started A Joke by Faith No More

So this is something I got on Record Store Day this year, last weekend. The 7″ Side by Side, I Started A Joke by Faith No More‘s great cover version with The Bee Gees‘ original. I love this idea of have both of the same tracks on a spit flip sides, it’s such a wicked thing to now have. This mint green colour for this song, I don’t know who would have picked it out but it’s prefect, it really couldn’t be any other maybe they have someone with synesthesia doing that job or something.

r-8395930-1460848207-9926-jpeg

Looking up this track some websites say it was on the album FNM’s fifth studio album King for a Day, Fool for a Lifetime but I never see that, it’s was a B-side for the first single for that album Digging the Grave in 1995 and then later re-release as an A-side single after the news of the break-up of the band in 1998 and also was included on their greatest hits comp album called Who Cares a Lot? The first of quite a few comp albums like that over the years, maybe more of a record company thing than the band. When they reformed and then record new album it was released on Mike Patton own label Ipecac Records last year. They’re a few other FNM covers they could do this kind-off thing again or maybe should just post them all here, if I can them somewhere? I’m not talking about their most famous one Easy, they’re other that are much better. I always maintain they’re one band that really could put off a whole album of cover songs.

The most amazing thing about this track really Patton’s vocals, unbelievably great. This makes Easy look quite lame really, I don’t know this wasn’t more popular at the time. It seem it just confused most people or just didn’t understand just how epic it was or is. The lyrics written by  Barry, Robin, and Maurice Gibb are just genius, you don’t get words like these everyday. Released in 1968 as just a track in U.K. on their album called Idea which happens to the fifth studio album by The Bee Gees too, in some oversea county’s it was put out as a single. So I’ve included the lyrics below and then I’ll embed the video clip above from the late 90’s which has performance artist David Hoyle as the karaoke singer and also stars the British actor Martin Freeman. I totally love this song and now I’m very happy I have on this!

4184572595503a800

I Started a Joke lyrics written by Barry, Robin, and Maurice Gibb

I started a joke which started the whole world crying
But I didn’t see that the joke was on me oh no
I started to cry which started the whole world laughing
Oh If I’d only seen that the joke was on me

I looked at the skies running my hands over my eyes
And I fell out of bed hurting my head from things that I said
‘Till I finally died which started the whole world living
Oh If I’d only seen that the joke was on me

I looked at the skies running my hands over my eyes
And I fell out of bed hurting my head from things that I said
‘Till I finally died which started the whole world living
Oh If I’d only seen that the joke was on me
Oh no that the joke was on me

 

Leave a Reply

