Wicked Songs: Psychic Lilac CD/Chinatown Style by HTRK

Well, after writing a post about HTRK‘s Body Lotion EP and saying in it the last thing they released I found this one, the Psychic Lilac CD. So it arrived the other day and I’ve been listening to it alot now so here’s a few words about it for anyone who wants to read about it.

psychic_lilac_cd_scan

It’s limited edition of 500, hand stamped CD sleeve and it’s all chilled reworks of the last three tracks off the album Psychic 9-5 Club but are in the reverse order. So says the website, all for $5 so how can or could you go wrong? It’s all a little under 15 minutes which don’t bad for three tracks but it’s mixed as one extra long individual song with no pauses and breaks in the music too. You could say the first and last songs have been turned into instrumentals, I guess but there is a woman voice on the opening song but she is not singing, I’ve got no idea if it’s Jonninie Standish or just a sample. So that’s The Body You Deserve which then goes into Chinatown Style with mos-def Standish vocals, I love these lyrics so much, so beautiful which then it leads into Love Is Distraction which is even more of an instrumental than the opening one, these are so well interwoven together you hardly tell it’s three songs original, it’s only you know them from that album so you can tell. It’s more like it’s a intro and outre to Chinatown Style, making that just one epic song that goes for well over ten minutes, almost 15.

The reworked chili version or calling them that is prefect way the describe them, when I read that I was thinking the album Psychic 9-5 Club was already pretty chili but these three tracks on the Psychic Lilac CD take it to extremes, even more so than the album. It’s so amazing and pretty wicked, so much so I’ve been listening to it alot the last few days. The video clip to Chinatown Style is one of my faves which has kind-off turned into a almost ten minute movie or something so I think I’ll included just below plus the right lyrics because no one the whole internet seems to have them.

This has got to be five lilacs flowers or five psychics readings out five, I totally love this I best thing I’ve heard it a while. Is this where they’re going to go for the next album? I don’t know but we with see I guess. HTRK are fast become my favorite band right at this moment or are they already?

The Chinatown Style lyrics:

Chariot of the moon, You know you’re tearing up the world behind you

Chariot of the moon, You know you’re tearing it up behind you

You know
I’ve got mood swing
That you and I can’t dream on

You know
I’ve got
Mood swings and i got no control of it.

Chariot of the moon, You know you’re tearing up the world behind you

Chariot of the moon, You know you’re tearing it up behind you

Chariot of the moon, Inconsistent highs

You know you’re tearing it up behind you

Check my Chinatown Style

Check my Chinatown Style

Check my Chinatown Style

Leave a Reply

