Cover Versions: Martika/Prince’s Love… Thy Will Be Done by Sarah Blasko

OK, here’s another Aussie singer doing a Prince cover. Seems I’m also missing Sarah Blasko tonight because I can’t be in two places at once, I’m going to have to post this cover she did only a few days ago. In Melbourne’s Forum Theatre on April 23 which was only a day after Prince’s passing away. It’s a really beautiful tribute to him, yet another great track by him but that’s just endless really.

Prince produced and co-wrote Love… Thy Will Be Done with Martika in 1991 for the first single from her second album Martika’s Kitchen, it also featured three more Prince produced songs on the album. I love those two albums of hers, that was her last one but that one and the 1988 debut self-titled are two totally great pop albums. I loved those at the time of release so much but until I listen to Blasko’s cover I haven’t heard it for years and years, so great choice Sarah. Apparently the song started life as a prayer Martika use to say and she wrote in down in a notebook which Prince seen when they were collaborating and he just turn it into a song, as he does.

Love… Thy Will Be Done written by Prince & Martika

Love, thy will be done
I can no longer hide
I can no longer run
No longer can I resist the guiding light
It gives me the power to keep up the fight

Love, thy will be done
Since I have found you my life has just begun
And I see all of your creations as one
Perfect complex

No one less beautiful
Or more special than the next
We are all blessed and so wise to accept
Thy will love be done

Love, thy will be mine
And make me strive for the glorious and divine
I could not be more, more satisfied
(Satisfied)

Even when there’s no peace outside my window
There’s peace inside
And that’s why I no longer run
(I dont know)

Love, thy will be done
Love thy will be done
I can no longer hide
I can no longer run
(No)

Love, thy will be done
Thy will love be done
No longer can I resist
(No)

The guiding light
(Guiding light)
The light that gives me the power to keep up the fight
I couldnt be more satisfied
(No)

Even when there’s no peace outside my window
There’s peace inside
And that’s why I can not longer run
Love thy will be done
(Thy will be done, done, done)

Love, thy will be done
I can no longer hide
I can no longer run
Love, thy will be done
Thy will love be done

Love, thy will be done
I can no longer hide
I can no longer run
(No, no, no)

Love, thy will be done
Thy will love be done
Thy will love be done
Thy will love be done

She post this photo of Prince’s piano below on her facebook too saying quote:

This was my view of the stage pre show when I saw Prince play, just him & piano, earlier this year at Sydney Opera House… So vibrant & in love with what he did, & bloody funny as well. Super inspiring! RIP x

13082642_10153545659876485_2410951223671499251_n

p.s. Blasko also did a David Bowie cover at the start of the year too.

Leave a Reply

