Playlist: CountDown with Iggy Pop, AC/DC, Adam Ant, Billy Idol, Kiss, Dexys, Cowboys, Scientists, INXS & Aussie Crawl

Well, it’s 3:20AM on Saturday night here turning on the TV they’re playing old Aussie late 70’s & early 80’s music show Countdown episodes to commemorate the passing of Countdown co-creator Michael Shrimpton of cancer earlier this week. Right now they’re playing top 10 songs based on highest sellers songs of 1976, the year I was born. All of it is total mainstream rubbish so looking up some tracks on YouTube that I remember seeing and liked as a little kid from the same show. Now I’ve come up with my own ten track playlist which hopefully the music just a little bit better maybe not because I was just a little kid.

Half of it is of Aussie bands being that they played live in the TV studio, well lip sung sometimes then three English bands/artists and two Americans. Iggy Pop just has to start it all off with one craziest TV performs ever, this show was prime time on Saturday night and he put his microphone down his pants. Next just has to be AC/DC with a cover of old blues song but Bon Scott dressed in drag as a school girl with pigtails to match Angus Young’s school boy uniform. Then Adam I remember painting that stripe across my face, Billy I would do his lip thing all the time I could, my sister and I would paint each others faces like Kiss which she was the cat drummer but what was I? I can’t remember that maybe because I couldn’t see myself or something so I’ll have to ask her but I remember her cat face, Dexys we use to run around the room and coffee table as the music got faster and faster until we both fell over or vomit or something. Etc, etc anyway I hope someone else enjoys these clips, if not I still do enjoy them!

Iggy Pop – I’m Bored

AC/DC – Baby Please Don’t Go

Adam and the Ants – Antmusic

Billy Idol – Rebel Yell

Kiss – I Was Made For Lovin’ You

Dexy’s Midnight Runners – Come On Eileen

Sacred Cowboys – Nothing Grows In Texas

The Scientists – Last Night

INXS – Just Keep Walking

Australian Crawl – Reckless

maxresdefault

 So what’s your fave late 70’s early 80’s song/s and/or Countdown clip/s?

One comment on “Playlist: CountDown with Iggy Pop, AC/DC, Adam Ant, Billy Idol, Kiss, Dexys, Cowboys, Scientists, INXS & Aussie Crawl

Leave a Reply

