Cover Versions: Rolling Stones’ Wild Horses by Gareth Liddiard & Taasha Coates

Right after last weekend’s CountDown post I’m going to do another Aussie music TV show today. RockWiz is a show that’s still going now, it’s up to like season twelve or something. It’s a quiz show about music filmed in a pub and shown on the SBS channel on a Saturday night which is bad timing for me but it’s more of an old folks show anyway, if I go down south for the weekend to my Dad’s he loves to watching it sometimes. I’ve ended up getting the comp CD albums they have released basically because the singer/guitarist from my fave band The Drones does a couple of songs on the show so I buy the whole thing, off course.

Wild Horses track just has to be one of my fave Rolling Stones songs of all-time, originally from the album called Sticky Fingers of the year 1971. So this cover is a duet too because what happens on this TV show: two singers are intro as the first questions to two teams picked from pub audiences members, it’s filmed at Espy or the Esplanade for long, it’s located pretty much on the beach in St. Kilda in Melbourne, Victoria. For anyone who haven’t seen the show like oversea or something it’s pretty cool because everyone else sit around drinking, only in Australia a quiz would be made in a pub. After all the the rounds and questions the two singers do a duet together of a cover song. So The Drones songwriter Liddiard came on the show in 2007 and sung Shark Fin Blues. Playing and appearing on this show, this weekend was also  Taasha Coates who’s most well known for Aussie folk-roots group The The Audreys since 2004 have had four albums but this year she done her debut solo album.

Wild Horses lyrics:

Childhood living is easy to do
The things you wanted I bought them for you
Graceless lady you know who I am
You know I can’t let you slide through my hands
Wild horses couldn’t drag me away
Wild, wild horses couldn’t drag me away
I watched you suffer a dull aching pain
Now you’ve decided to show me the same
No sweeping exits or offstage lines
Could make me feel bitter or treat you unkind
Wild horses couldn’t drag me away
Wild, wild horses couldn’t drag me away
I know I’ve dreamed you a sin and a lie
I have my freedom but I don’t have much time
Faith has been broken tears must be cried
Let’s do some living after we die
Wild horses couldn’t drag me away
Wild, wild horses we’ll ride them some day
Wild horses couldn’t drag me away
Wild, wild horses we’ll ride them some day

de3182c251d840828786025a71db1f1f

BTW did you notices Gaz changes the lyrics from sweeping “Exits” to “Statements”? I do find listening to covers of really big tracks like this or say AC/DC’s Highway To Hell so much better because it’s just something different of those very well known songs which for me, I don’t know about everyone else but they’re a little boring after a hundred or something plays and I just want to heard it done some other way.

Anyway what is your fave Rolling Stones track/s? Please dear reader share yours because I’ll love hearing what everyone’s fave is?

Leave a Reply

