Cover Versions: Jonathan Richman’s Vincent Van Gogh by Gareth Liddiard’s Cocktail Favourites

Edit (30/3/17) so I’ve been now corrected by The Drones twitter account, thanks guys. It’s his new band called National Cocktail Favourites but I do hope you’re letting NGV website person know too because that’s where I got it from.

So I promised something the other day which I’m kind-of breaking it right here on Tuesday’s post but it’s not The Drones. It’s first taste and debut song of his new project apparently called Gareth Liddiard’s Cocktail Favourites.

It’s a totally exclusive to the NGV, National Gallery of Victoria so you have to follow this link here. Don’t bother to look for it anywhere else because I’ve done that already but I’ve just email NGV asking where can I buy it to keep it? So if I get an answer I’ll update this page here. It’s recorded especially for the the coming exhibition called Van Gogh and the Seasons at, you guess it NGV. Solo Liddiard is playing a slow on Friday 12th of May too, I was at the last show he did at NGV which one of my very first blog posts here. So because they’re no shows in the west, should I just fly over and see this one?

This track seems to be a bit buried or hid and looking at music news websites, no one is saying anything about the song yet, looks like I’m the first to blog about it too so should this be a little better or something. I’ve been listening to it all morning since telstra called me at 7:15am or something plus for some reason I didn’t go to bed until about 3 o’clock last night. It’s a pretty great soundtrack for no sleep, if you wanna know. It’s sound is really picking up in part where last year’s The Drones new album songs like Boredom left off. So I’ve just got to share it here with anyone, everyone else who would like to hear it too. Also off course below are the original by Jonathan Richman and/or The Modern Lovers from 80’s plus he re-recorded it on a solo album in 2004 too and the lyrics.

Vincent Van Gogh lyrics

Have you heard about the painter Vincent Van Gogh
Who loved color and who let it show
Now in the museum what have we here?
The baddest painter since God’s Jon Vermeer
He loved he loved he loved life so bad
His paintings had twice the color other paintings had
So bad so bad that the world had to know
The man loved color and he let it show

Well in the Amsterdam museum I was feeling bad
And trying to find a way not to be that sad
I felt the feeling in the room sincere
Vincent Van Gogh well he seemed so near
And he loved he loved he loved life like he did
His paintings had things that painters keep hid
He loved life so bad that the world had to know
He loved color and he let it show

OK, so what can we say about this Vincent Van Gogh? Ellie
He loved color and he let it show
Ok, Michael, now in the museum, what have we here?
The baddest painter since Jon Vermeer
He loved he loved he loved life with that heart
His paintings took off where the other paintings just start
He loved life so bad that the world had to know
He loved color and he let it show

Alright

Have you heard about the painter Vincent Van Gogh?
Who loved color and who let it show
Now in the museum what have we here?
The baddest painter since God’s Jon Vermeer
He loved he loved he loved life with a passion
His paintings said things that men generally don’t do in that fashion
He loved life so bad that the world had to know
The man loved life folks and he let it show
Vincent Van Gogh, who we talkin’ about?
Vincent Van Gogh

5391vangogh-fields
One of my fave Van Gogh paintings which does seems like it’s going to be showing in Melbourne too.

Leave a Reply

