Cover Versions: Neil Young’s My My, Hey Hey by Teho Teardo & Blixa Bargeld

Out of nowhere comes a new EP by Teho Teardo & Blixa Bargeld with this cover of Neil Young. Working on four new songs including the cover over the European winter and after the Spring EP a couple of years ago now comes the Fall EP. The performers are David Coulter on musical saw and Gabriele Coen on bass clarinet plus a six piece string section with Vanessa Cremaschi and Elena De Stabile on violin, Ambra Michelangeli and Stefano Azzolina on viola, Laura Bisceglia and Giovanna Famulari on cello. So then off course is not your normal rock & roll instruments to go with the lyrics but oh my god what a sound. I’ve been listening to it on repeat all morning since finding it but it was out a couple or a few days ago but I’ve just got to share it with whoever here in blogland. The Fall EP has three new songs called: Ziegenfisch, Testosteron Sklaven, Bianchissimo and is out now and you can order it here.

So as with most of my new cover song posts I’ve just got to include the originals, Neil did two, both a rocky full band with Crazy Horse and then an solo acoustic version on his 1979 album Rust Never Sleeps plus the lyrics just below:

[Intro]
My my, hey hey
Rock and roll is here to stay
It’s better to burn out than to fade away
My my, hey hey

[Verse 1]
Out of the blue and into the black
You pay for this, but they give you that
And once you’re gone, you can’t come back
When you’re out of the blue and into the black

[Verse 2]
The King is gone but he’s not forgotten
Is this the story of Johnny Rotten?
It’s better to burn out than it is to rust
The king is gone but he’s not forgotten

[Outro]
Hey hey, my my
Rock and roll can never die
There’s more to the picture
Than meets the eye

1-2_teho_teardo_blixa_bargeld_2016_6_credit_thomas_rabsch_1500

Blixa (left) and Teho on a street corner. 

In other insane news Einstuerzende Neubauten are playing two Aussie exclusive shows at Dark Mofo fest in Hobart in mid-June as part of their Greatest Hits tour, I wanna go and see them!

Leave a Reply

