Playlist: My 25 Fave Winter Songs

Well, winter has finally hit Perth, W.A. now this weekend, it has taken a little while to happen this year. It was freeze fuckin’ cold but it’s most likely not as cold as some other places on earth. I remember growing up down south it was even colder down there. So to celebrating that fact here’s my fave tracks that have a winter relate theme. Now from you lucky buggers in the North hemisphere I did make a Summer playlist too if now wanna check it out, it’s here.

Basically I’m starting with the word winter then going to rain because it’s been pissing down all weekend. I hope you enjoy my little list that plays for my Monday morning blog post. My tracks seem to be more on the mellow side of things but they’re a few up beat number too, enjoy!

Sun Kil Moon – Australian Winter

 

Bill Callahan – Winter Road

Leonard Cohen – Winter Lady

Silver Ray – Winter Is Behind Us

Laughing Clowns – Winter’s Way

Eddy Current Suppression Ring – Winter’s Warm

Died Pretty – Winterland

Paul Kelly – Winter Coat

The Fall – Winter 1 & 2

Tom Waits – Make It Rain

Magic Dirt – I Love The Rain

 Morphine – You Look Like Rain

Jen Cloher & The Endless Sea – Rain

Ed Kuepper – Rainy Night

Spencer P. Jones and The Nothing Butts – (She Walks) Between The Raindrops

The Triffids – Raining Pleasure

Karen Dalton – Little Bit Of Rain

The Pogues – A Rainy Night In Soho

Beth Orton & M. Ward – Buckets Of Rain

Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – Raining In Darling

Pivot (now known as PVT) – Fool In Rain

Dirty Three – Rain On

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ain’t Going To Rain Anymore

Tom Waits – Cold Water

The Jesus Lizard – Cold Water 

winter-sky-perth

View from South Perth looking back across Swan River to the CBD with dark clouds above.   

Please now add your own winter/rain song/s in comments below because I would love to know what reminds you of winter, rain or feeling cold etc. cheers!

4 thoughts on “Playlist: My 25 Fave Winter Songs

  1. Looks like an intriguing list. I recognize some names, but others I’ll have to look more into. While I’m in the midst of summer over here in Ohio, during the winter I find myself listening to a lot of The National, The Smiths, New Order and older Decemberists. Sometimes I listen to Arcade Fire’s debut record (Funeral).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh well, please let me what you do end up really liking, OK? Some are real Aussie acts so maybe that’s why you might not have heard of them. Did you see my summer playlist I made a while ago? It’s 25 song that I dig with just the word Summer in the title, it was fun to made to see if you come with 25 tracks like that! Winter I only find half that and then when to words like rain and cold to make the 25. I guess I’ll be doing Spring and Autumn too at some stage! That’s some great listening you’ve got there tooo, cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks much! I’ll let you know what I think. I’ve not seen the summer playlist yet…I’ll have to check that one out. I love making playlists that reflect a certain season or seem to create the mood of a certain month for me. I like your idea; it’s creative! And I also love your inclusion of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds…I’m a new fan of theirs and I’m already absolutely loving what I’ve heard so far.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t know if you’ve notices and what you’ve looked at on my blog yet but I’ve done a lot of posts on Cave/Bad Seeds. Last year when that new album come out I did a couple of weeks of posts of non-stop him/them. So if you can bother going back in time and having a look and dig around there, you might find some more good things to listen too. I also did his soundtracks, movies, books, gigs. all sorts really! Check it out when you have some time I guess. Cheers again and have a good one 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

