My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 20

My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 20

It’s number twenty today so I’ve or we’ve got halfway! At kind-of beginning of April, well a few days into it we’ve reach this point, you lucky little buggers! So we’re finishing both letters “J” and “K” albums plus making a start on the letter “L” albums toooo! It’s all happening here, if anyone out there cares anymore? This Friday morning’s acts are C.W. Stoneking, The Peep Tempel, Use No Hooks, Abbe May and Vic Simms.

Jungle Blues by C.W. Stoneking (2008)

His fourth album, if you’ve never heard him? His music does sounds like he’s an the old African-American blues bloke from the 1930’s but he’s from the twenty-first century and is white Australian! But I think, does have a something new to add to that style of music and does have a bit of a twisted version of it. C.W. is shorten for Christopher William and was born in in Katherine, Northern Territory. At 2009 AIRA award show was nominated for a whole pile but only winning Best Blues and Roots Album for Jungle Blues. The opening title track had a promo video:

Talkin’ Lion Blues is my own fave and is the second track in:

Stream album on youtube:

Joy by The Peep Tempel (2016)

Third album and their last one but they’re finally having a live reunion this year so does that mean they’re working or could do something new? Blake Scott the bands songwriter who plays guitar and sings did do his solo debut album after this album in 2020. The rhythm section of Steven Carter on drums and Stewart Rayner on bass did start a side-project together called Shepparton Airplane. Joy is a bit of a peak for them, I think going on indefinite hiatus was a smart move but didn’t think it was going to be this long! Rayguns has a official video clip:

My fave is the opening track Kalgoorlie, did you know Scott is original from W.A. but The Peep Tempel is seen as a Melbourne band:

Stream album on bandcamp:

The Job by Use No Hooks (2020)

It’s a compilation of their “lost” recordings from 1979 to 1983 and has been issued in 2020. Before this only one song was released on one of those punk/post-punk comp Various Artists album of 2000’s. I don’t know why they never got a record deal at the time or never released anything in late 70’s/early 80’s? They’ve a great new wave, someone else called them or sound like an Aussie Talking Heads or something like that? They did recorded five songs onto reel-to-reel four track and then some live recording were done. Members were in other Melbourne bands like earlier Stuart Grant was frontman for Primitive Calculators from late 70’s and Arne Hanna when on to work with Michael Hutchence’s in the late 80’s side-project Max Q. The Hook was released as lead single but no video clip:

Circumstances Beyond Our Control would be my favorite:

Kiss My Apocalypse by Abbe May (2013)

Her fourth album and it’s the one and only letter “K” album in my tally! She was born in Bunbury W.A. but I’m counting her as yet another Perth artist because Abbe been playing around here since the 2000’s. I could have easy named album before this one Design Desire of 2011 which more guitar driven album on my list. Here May is stepping away that sound or some said swift U-turn in different direction. Did get nominated for Best Female Artist for Kiss My Apocalypse at the ARIA Music Awards of 2013, didn’t win and that’s the one and only time for Abbe at that award show. May’s own label for this was “doom pop” and my fave of the video songs is Karmageddon:

Kiss My Apocalypse or title track would my fave track:

Stream album on youtube:

The Loner by Vic Simms (1973)

Most likely the greatest live album you’ve never heard! The Loner was recorded when he was incarcerated in Bathurst Gaol in 1973 and was his debut album which was to be his one and only. Much earlier, well as a teenage Festival Records released single Yo-Yo Heart under the name Vicki Simms at age 15 in 1961, in 1962 re-released as an EP. After getting into alcohol and then committing a robbery, he was sent to that notorious prison where he learn guitar and wrote his own songs. RAC label heard a tape of his music and organised mobile studio at the prison dining room for the recording. The Age newspaper described as “Australia’s great lost classic album of black protest music”. In 2009 The Loner was added to the National Film and Sound Archive’s Sounds of Australia registry and then in 2013 was reissued by Sandman records that’s were I got my copy. Plus in 2014 band called The Painted Ladies with help of Ed Kuepper and Simms himself re-recorded the original album, linked here. Back Into The Shadows was released as album’s single:

Stranger In My Country is own fave song:

Stream album on youtube:

The outro can be something like, twenty more posts to go! How long is that going to take me? Anyone out there enjoy any of these albums? Please let me know!

Cheers! 🙂

2 responses to “My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 20”

  1. Cristian Avatar

    Hey mate. Haven’t been blogging for a very long time, but still get emails when you post. Good on you for keeping at it. Vic Simms is a great discovery!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. William Avatar

      Oh right, well I stopped blogging for a while but decided to do these Aussie albums posts! So glad to hear from you again and that you enjoyed Vic Simms! Cheers mate 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

a1000mistakes

Well, I'm dyslexic so writing about something I love: Music, might help but it's most likely just full of mistakes. That title is also lyrics from The Drones song called I Don't Want To Change. Oh, my name is William and thanks for having a look.