My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 24

My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 24

Intro is finishing albums with the titles starting with both letters “M” and “N” today, dates are from early 2000’s to late 2010’s with these acts can be found below Liars, Mod Con, Moon Rituals, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and L.J. Hill for this Thursday morning! Hope you enjoy them?

Mess by Liars (2014)

Their seventh studio album which they’ve been called an American band but Angus Andrew is an Aussie and is the only constant member of Liars, at this point he was living in America with the other couple of members who were Americans but as you can see I’m counting it in my 200 Aussie albums! Mess is also the last studio album by Liars to feature long-standing American members Julian Gross and Aaron Hemphill and was largely recorded at the band’s own No Gold Studios in Los Angeles. Mess On A Mission had a promo video clip and also would be my fave track tooo:

Perpetual Village would be my runner-up fave from this album:

Stream album on bandcamp:

Modern Convenience by Mod Con (2018)

Debut album by yet another Melbourne band but worth to note is the very same line-up of act called Palm Springs with members of Erica Dunn on Guitar and Vocals, Sara Retallick on Bass and Raquel Solier on Drums. Erica has since then released I guess it’s kind-of solo album under Palm Springs and Mod Con has had their second as well. Dunn is also member of Tropical Fuck Storm which this album was recorded and mixed but isn’t produced by Gareth Liddiard. I think, I would say the video song is also my fave track entitled Kidney Auction Blues:

After that I’ll say closing song I dig the most, it’s called Get In Front Of Me Satan:

Stream album on bandcamp:

Self-Titled by Moon Rituals (2018)

Moon Rituals is the pseudonymous title for the solo project from Melbourne musician Sarah Hardiman, who’s guitarist and sometimes sings in the band Deaf Wish from Melbourne. Going from heavy rock guitars to minimalist synth pop because she was living in Geelong and all of her guitars were in Melbourne so got from Cash Converters cheap keyboards then late into the project came Mikey Young of Eddy Current Suppression Ring who contributing guitar, bass, percussion, beats and synthesizers. Most missed how great this album was at the time of released so I’ve gonna include in here. The track Sky Dance had a video clip so have a look:

I Can Hear the Fuck is my fave song from the album:

Stream album on bandcamp:

No More Shall We Part by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (2001)

Their eleventh studio album and the only one from the 2000’s by them in my 200 Aussie albums list also so far the second NC&TBS to appear in these posts after 90’s Henry’s Dream plus his couple of early bands in late 70’s Door, Door by The Boys Next Door and early 80’s Mutiny/The Bad Seed by The Birthday Party. One of the only Bad Seeds albums with both Blixa Bargeld and Warren Ellis, the latter has a lot of violin solos plus Mick Harvey is still in the band tooo! Cave himself finally kicking his drugs, gets married, has twins sons and turns songwriting into an office job meaning he hires a room and goes nine to five to write, this is the albums does that way taking these song to Abby Road studio and also final album done with Tony Cohen as producer. Three video clip were made but I like Fifteen Feet Of Pure White Snow the best, look out for Jason Donovan, Jarvis Cocker and Noah Taylor:

NC has a panic attack at the hairdressers and wrote Oh My Lord about it:

Stream album on youtube:

Namoi Mud by L.J. Hill (2004)

His second album but we’re still waiting to see if we’ll get a third but most like you’ve never heard of him anyway? He’s very under-rated songwriter because even looking him up online you’ll find very little, I didn’t find much but does tell me he’s an Aboriginal (Kamilaroi), Cherokee Indian and Irish plus his debut album entitled Inside the Universe of 2002 simply isn’t anywhere online but if you wanna copy of this one his label has them for sale, linked here. Anyway his song Pretty Bird Tree has been covered by Paul Kelly & Charlie Owen but the original is still the best and amazingly does have a official video clip:

Streets Of Armidale but is after my fave track Pretty Bird Tree:

Stream album on youtube:

Changing post day to Thursday for May, I don’t know if it matters but last month I posted them on Friday and month before was a Wednesday, you know?

Cheers! 🙂

4 responses to “My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 24”

  1. Robert Horvat Avatar

    Really enjoying this series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. William Avatar

      So glad you’re really enjoying it! Cheers mate 🙂

      Like

  2. Bludgeon Avatar

    Woooooowwwwww! Pretty Bird Tree….

    Thanx for introducing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. William Avatar

      No probs anytime! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

a1000mistakes

Well, I'm dyslexic so writing about something I love: Music, might help but it's most likely just full of mistakes. That title is also lyrics from The Drones song called I Don't Want To Change. Oh, my name is William and thanks for having a look.