My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 17

My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 17

Today I’ve got late 70’s Punk , early 80’s New Wave, mid-80’s Indie Rock, mid-90’s French Pop covers and mid-90’s Soundtrack comp for you with The Saints, INXS, The Triffids, Mick Harvey and soundtrack of Various Artists! So how does that sound?

(I’m) Stranded by The Saints (1977)

What the hell can I say about this album? Everything has been said before so basis fact are, the debut album yet again with classic line-up of singer-songwriter Chris Bailey and guitarist-songwriter Ed Kuepper with drummer Ivor Hay and bassist Kym Bradshaw. The self-released DIY (I’m) Stranded 7″ single was originally released by The Saints in 1976 so that’s a couple of months before Anarchy In The UK and then was re-released by EMI in 1977. This promo video was made in conjunction with the 1977 release. Included in this video at the beginning features intros by Jesus & Mary Chain, Michael Hutchence, Nick Cave, Evan Dando and Mark Lanegan from TV show Rage with those guest programmers:

Messin’ With The Kid would my favorite track from this album:

Stream full album on youtube:

Self-Titled by INXS (1980)

I still say their debut album their best, well I enjoy it the very most so off course going to pick this one over everything else they released. Yeah, I know the later albums sold millions of copies but to me this is them at the purest before huge record deals, masses world tours, Michael Hutchence celebrate girlfriends and then came that crazy wife of his which leads to his terrible passing away. Somehow people now think or believe his death was accidental result of autoerotic asphyxiation but I think, he was just simply very, very and I mean very and totally depressed because to sum up briefly he was dealing with epic size of bullshit on all fronts, then taking all sorts of drugs on top of that so he just hung himself one night. Anyway back when they were just starting out and made this much more new wave than the later stadium pop rock albums but this self-titled record is an under-rated gem of a record. Just Keep Walking was the single and has a pretty basic low-budget video clip:

Learn To Smile is my own fave track:

Stream full album on youtube:

In The Pines by The Triffids (1986)

Released the same year as Born Sandy Devotional album which was put out in March 86 and this one released in August 1986, I’ve included both albums in my 200 Aussie albums but I love this one more even if Born Sandy Devotional is way more popular. Once did a whole blog post about it, under those “Classic Albums” tags. In The Pines recorded in a woolshed on a remote Western Australian farming property which was owned by David McCombs the album’s songwriter’s parents. Done on an eight-track machine for a grand total of $1190, if you have a copy of this album in the liner notes says that $340 of this was spent on alcohol of beer, wine and vodka which exceeded the $310 spent on food and the $300 on recording equipment hire and the $240 on petrol plus it did somehow reached No. 69 on the Australian Album Charts tooo! Didn’t really have any singles/videos done at the time but opening track Suntrapper is pretty popular:

I love this album’s version of Jerdacuttup Man:

Stream full album on youtube:

Intoxicated Man by Mick Harvey (1995)

OK, I totally love old French Pop music and on this one is ex-Bad Seeds member translate most likely the greatest French songwriter into English. Now I know, anyone in their right mind wouldn’t included a whole record of French covers on a best Aussie albums list but really who cares? If you don’t know the original songwriter, that’s Serge Gainsbourg! This is one of most favorite 90’s album and if I remember right, it was even recorded in Melbourne as well. The late great Anita Lane guest sings on a few of the tracks. Aussie love to drink and just look at the records’ title, what more reasons do I need to included it? Give it some context Harvey was still a Bad Seeds at this point and they just released Let Love In in 1994 and then in 1996 put out Murder Ballads which are both way more popular than this one but I do preferred Intoxicated Man. If you remember or didn’t? I picked 1992’s Henry’s Dream as the Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds best/my fave 90’s album back in part 14 post. The Anita Lane sung Harley Davidson had a promo video:

Keeping the auto-vehicle theme, I’m picking Ford Mustang as my fave song:

This album ends after track number 16 but streaming on bandcamp is the reissue which comes with the follow-up album Pink Elephants of 1997 making it a whopping 34 tracks:

Idiot Box (soundtrack) by Various Artists (1997)

The last time seeing You Am I they played Gasoline For Two, I could NOT believe it and afterwards Tim Rogers said Ben Mendelsohn still own him $250. Anyway this is about half are 90’s indie bands doing older 70’s/80’s Aussie band’s songs so it’s even more covers! You Am I had few then brand new songs, some are instrumentals like a score plus some dialogue excerpts from the movie thrown in. As far as I know never ever has been reissued but I’ve still got my old copy. A few but NOT all songs are on YouTube and lucky someone else has already made a playlist of those nine tracks from the album. Seems I’m on the subject, You Am I did do Beasts of Bourbon’s Drop Out cover used as B-side for the single taken from the soundtrack which I’ve got somewhere. The track they picked as lead single amazingly was The Mark Of Cain covering X’s Degenerate Boy which even had a video clip unbelievable but is missing on that playlist below so here’s the promo video with movie footage/dialogue:

I think before my fave was Magic Dirt doing My Pal cover, original by GOD and written by Joel Silbersher but after seeing Gasoline For Two played live, even though looking around the crowd at that You Am I show, no one else seem to know it:

Here’s the album/soundtrack full track list just this one time with film dialogue include because only around half of the tracks available for streaming on youtube below this:

1. Dialogue – World In A Box – 0:18
2. You Am I – Idiot Box I – 2:51
3. You Am I – Cats And Dogs – 2:30
4. Dialogue – Mad – 0:19
5. The Mark Of Cain – Degenerate Boy – 4:01
6. Hoss – The Bullshit Never Ends – 2:12
7. Snout – Penicillin – 3:31
8. Magic Dirt – My Pal – 3:52
9. You Am I – Idiot Box II – 2:56
10. Dialogue – Quiet Poem – 0:16
11. Crow – Halo – 5:11
12. You Am I – Gasoline For Two 3:22
13. Snout – Love In Motion- 4:30
14. Hoss – Simple Love – 4:02
15. Dialogue– Pub Poem – 0:19
16. You Am I– Television Addict – 2:43
17. Crow – Second Language – 2:44
18. Hoss – Winter Salsa – 2:34
19. The Mark Of Cain – Hindsight- 5:09
20. You Am I– Idiot Box III – 3:03

Who else likes/loves those albums toooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo?

Cheers! 🙂

Leave a comment

a1000mistakes

Well, I'm dyslexic so writing about something I love: Music, might help but it's most likely just full of mistakes. That title is also lyrics from The Drones song called I Don't Want To Change. Oh, my name is William and thanks for having a look.