My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 18

My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 18

The on-slaughter of all my letter “I” fave Australian albums continue today with dates from 1976 all the way up to 2017. I’ve got Powderfinger, Punk & Post-Punk Various Artists album, The Drones, Gold Class and Time For Dreams:

Internationalist by Powderfinger (1998)

Could be the biggest 90’s Aussie bands or one of the biggest and then got even bigger in the 2000’s but anyway this is my own fave album by them, what’s your favorite Powderfinger album? This one is their third studio album and the next fourth Odyssey Number Five album of 2000 is most likely the popular album by them but it’s one before that I love the most. Internationalist received four ARIA Music Awards including Album of the Year even with me loving which if I’m keeping track of that award show right as I go along in these posts, I think it’s only the second act winning those gongs. The endless singles/videos lifted of this album were The Day You Come, Don’t Wanna Be Left Out, Good-Day Ray, Already Gone and Passenger which all appeared on Triple J’s Hottest 100 poll over two consecutive years but today I’ve picked Already Gone:

Private Man because of the lyrics “he’s eyeing of an old door frame”:

Stream album on youtube which the first 13 track was the original album after that is deluxe reissue bonus tracks:

Inner City Sound: Australian Punk & Post-Punk 1976-85 by Various Artists (2005)

OK, we’ve gone to yet another album that isn’t anywhere online but you can buy a copy at this website, linked here. Inner City Sound was a 2CD set stand-alone companion piece to the cult book of the same name written by Clinton Walker and you can buy that book on that same website tooo, was original and fanzine written by Walker in the late-70’s. So in the 1990’s/2000’s they’re was a whole pile of comps of old punk and post-punk music from all over Australia, I got most of them but I still rate this one of the very best and just below is a few classic tracks included on this VA album because off course, I was just saying there is no streaming full comp album!

Task Force by RAZAR is total classic 1978 7″ single:

Sex Crimes by The Boys Next Door was a 1978 demo which is Nick Cave’s earliest songwriting:

Shivers by Young Charlatans from 1978 and is Rowland S. Howard earlier band with a demo of that famous track with him singing it and playing here a much rawer version:

Do That Dance by Primitive Calculators is an under-rated 1980 single which just I love to death:

Because you can’t listen to this one I’ve cut and paste the full track-list below so you can a least read all the names of artist and song included on it just below. So it’s artist, track, (songwriter/s in brackets), time length and where it was original found before appearing on this compilation album:

Disc One:

  1. tch-tch-tch – Pop Art (Brophy) 3.28 1979 Crystal Ballroom single
  2. Sacred Cowboys – Hell Sucks (Gray/Ferrie/Doolan/Rischbieth) 3.38 Track on 1988 Citadel LP Trouble from Providence
  3. Wet Taxis – Címon (Hood) 3.02 1984 Hot single.
  4. Seems Twice – Look at It (Douglas/Molloy/Yatras) 0.33 Track on 1980 Doublethink EP Non-Plussed
  5. Saints – Wild About You (Andy Anderson) 2.34 Track on 1977 EMI LP Stranded
  6. Leftovers – I Only Panic When Thereís Nothing to Do (Leftovers) 1.47 1979 Punji Stick single
  7. Last Words – Animal World (Baxter/Groome) 2.40 1978 Remand single.
  8. Razar – Task Force (Burke) 2.20 1978 single.
  9. Thought Criminals – More Suicides Please (Grierson) 2.28 Track on 1979 Doublethink EP Food for Thoughtcrimes
  10. XL Capris – My City of Sydney (Leonetti/Troupe) 2.39 1980 Axle single.
  11. Manikins – I Never Thought Iíd Find (Fernandes/Porritt) 3.03 1978 single
  12. Boys Next Door – Sex Crimes (Cave) 3.03 1978 demo.
  13. Seems Twice – Column One (Douglas/Molloy/Yatras) 0.16 Track on 1980 Doublethink EP Non-Plussed
  14. Young Charlatans – Shivers (Howard) 3.51 Previously unreleased 1978 demo
  15. Young Modern – Sheís Got the Money (Richards/Yates/Dowler) 2.58 1978 Top Gear single
  16. Triffids – Family Name (D. McComb) 3.32 Track on 1983 cassette Dungeon Tapes
  17. Sekret Sekret – Girl with a White Stick (Virgin/Devlin) 3.29 1984 Waterfront single
  18. Surfside 6 – Cool in the Tube (Datson/Courtenay/McAloon) 3.05 1980 Phantom single
  19. Voigt/465 – State (Voigt/465) 2.10 1979 U.W.E. single
  20. Tactics – Long Story (Studdert) 4.01 Track on 1981 Green LP My Houdini
  21. Whirlywirld – Red River (Olsen) 4.17 Track on 1980 Missing Link 12″ EP Whirlywirld
  22. Primitive Calculators – Do That Dance (Grant/Lavece) 2.43 1980 Slow Drama single
  23. Systematics – Mmmm (Gibson) 1.56 Track on 1980 M Squared LP Rural
  24. Super-K – Recurring Nightmare (Shepherd/Thirkell) 4.51 1982 Green single
  25. New Christs – No Way on Earth (Younger) 4.13 Track on 1989 Blue Mosque LP, Distemper
  26. *** *** – Study for Falling Apart (*** ***) 1.42 Track on Fast Forward cassette magazine # 4, 1981
  27. Black Assassins – Death Take Me Now (Black Assassins) 2.08 1981 recording
  28. Lonely Hearts – Last Kiss (Watson/Rooney) 2.04 1981 Half-an-Arc single

Disc Two:

  1. Equal Local – 12 Ways to Go (Jackson) 3.53 1982 Missing Link 12″ single
  2. Laughing Clowns – Ghost Beat (Kuepper) 3.20 Track on 1981 Prince Melon LP Laughing Clowns #3
  3. Poles – Over & Beyond & Through (Tate/Bolland) 4.53 1981 single
  4. Scientists – Happy Hour (Salmon/Thewlis) 3.33 1982 Au-Go-Go single
    5/. Birthday Party – Release the Bats (Harvey/Cave) 2.30 1981 4AD (UK) single
  5. Go-Betweens – Darlinghurst Nights (Forster/McLennan) 5.47 Track on 2005 EMI album Oceans Apart
  6. Sunday Painters – Something to Do (Erwin/McKinnon/Raengel) 3.54 Track on 1982 Terminal LP Something to Do
  7. Essendon Airport – Talking to Cleopatra (Goodge/Chesworth/Sanger) 3.43 1980 Innocent single
  8. Severed Heads – Dead Eyes Opened (Ellard/Bradbury/Knuckey) 3.22 1984 Gap single
  9. Machinations – Average Inadequacy (Doyle/Loneragan/Swan/Starr) 4.21 1981 Phantom single
  10. Sardine – Stuck On You (I. & S. Rilen) 4.12 Track on 1983 Phantom 12″ EP I Hate You
  11. X – TV Glue (Rilen/Lucas) 4.25 Track on 1985 Major LP At Home with You
  12. Hunters & Collectors – The Slab (Hunters & Collectors) 3.56 1984 White Label single
  13. End – My Confession (Myers) 2.53 1983 single
  14. Plug Uglies – All Done In (Gorman/Lock/Norris/Stevens) 2.41 Track on 1989 mini-album Knock Me Your Lobes
  15. Apartments – All You Wanted (Walsh) 3.50 1984 Hot single
  16. Saints – Ghost Ships (Bailey) 3.41 1984 RCA single
  17. Lighthouse Keepers – Springtime (Appel) 4.20 Track on 1983 Guthagga Piepline LP Exploding Lighthouse Keepers
  18. David Chesworth – Making Waves (Chesworth) 1.17 Track on 1979 Innocent LP 50 Synthesizer Greats

I See Seaweed by The Drones (2013)

I said the same thing about the last Drones album but this one is my favorite Drones album of all-time or maybe so I should say something like this: it’s always an arm wrestling in-between I See Seaweed album and Gala Mill album plus then Wait Long by the River and the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By album is always tapping both albums on the shoulders while they’re in the middle of an arm wrestle. They’re in my little opinion three of the greatest albums by any Australian band at any point in Aussie music history which all three are here in my 200 list, you know? The opening title track had the one and only video clip done for this album:

Nine Eyes is my fave track but don’t ask me why?:

Stream the album on youtube:

It’s You by Gold Class (2015)

Totally under-rated band who only had a couple of albums which I do love both of them and then quietly broken-up but off course, I’ve picked their debut to included in my 200 Aussie albums list. Let’s let Adam Curley vocalist explain: “We write everything together in a small room, which is a recipe for tantrums, but we also look out for each other’s interests and we’re pretty dedicated to that way of working. The album was intended to be a document of the live set we wrote in a short amount of time, recorded quickly and released soon after. It’s our opening statement as a band in a way.” Life As A Gun is one of my most fave mid-2010’s songs and has a video clip:

Bite Down is my favorite after that:

Stream the album on bandcamp:

In Time by Time For Dreams (2017)

I think, I was doing this blog by this point and name this one and Alex Cameron’s Forced Witness was my top couple of Aussie albums of 2017, both now have been included in my 200 Aussie albums of all-time. This duo is Tom Carlyon who’s already appear here in this list a few times under or in other acts with: Devastations’ Coal album of 2005, Dan Kelly And The Alpha Males’ Drowning In The Fountain Of Youth album of 2006, Standish/Carlyon’s Deleted Scenes album of 2013. Amanda Roff also has been here before in this list too only as backing vox but still on Dan Kelly And The Alpha Males’ Drowning In The Fountain Of Youth too, Harmony’s self-titled album of 2011 and just above was on The Drones’ I See Seaweed. Here she’s steps out up the front of this band or duo, playing bass as well with Tom doing the rest of the music. By now Time For Dreams has had a couple albums but no big surprise, I’ve got their debut album. The opening track Projects had a video:

I’ll say Operator is my fave track:

Stream the album on bandcamp with bonus remixes tagged on the end:

I promise all the letter “I” album with be done by my next 200 Aussie album post, OK! Does anyone out there really give a shit about all these anymore?

Cheers! 🙂

6 responses to “My Favorite 200 Aussie Albums Of All Time: Part 18”

  1. Content Catnip Avatar

    I was wondering where I’d seen that album cover of the arm before….it’s Gold Class now it came back, it’s such a simple and yet amazing album cover. I agree that Gold Class were a really cool band and I loved them when they came out, especially My Life as a Gun…didn’t realise they split…what a shame!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. William Avatar

      Oh yeah, it’s big shame they’ve split because I would love a third album and see them live again, did you see them live? They were killer live act! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Content Catnip Avatar

        I never saw them live…wish I did though I hope they come back

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Content Catnip Avatar

    The Time for Dreams band I love a real lot…this album reminds me a bit of Cocteau Twins its a bit mysterious

    Liked by 1 person

    1. William Avatar

      Oh yeah, most def and to me sounds like they should be playing at the Twin Peaks bar or something? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Content Catnip Avatar

        Oh yeah hehe

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

a1000mistakes

Well, I'm dyslexic so writing about something I love: Music, might help but it's most likely just full of mistakes. That title is also lyrics from The Drones song called I Don't Want To Change. Oh, my name is William and thanks for having a look.