Classic Albums: (I’m) Stranded by The Saints

Classic Albums: (I’m) Stranded by The Saints

Right, it’s got to be the debut album by The Saints (I’m) Stranded for part three of my Ed Kuepper songwriter special. Over the last few days I’ve picked out just two albums and now today a third album from the massive back catalog of his music, it does seem like just a tiny little sample of his work but it’s more that any one artist I’ve featured in my own version of the Classic Album list, so far.

Ed was on my first ever album in that album list, under all three: The Saints, Laughing Clowns and his own solo work on The Tales Of The Australia Underground comp albums Volume 1 & 2. Then the second post I did was the first track I ever heard by him called Also Sprach The King Of Euro-Disco. I do really love his last solo album from 2015 named Lost Cities and you guess it wrote about it too. Also on this blog is his AC/DC Highway To Hell cover and when Adaltia & Garry covered The Saints Messin’ With The Kid which does bring me back this album. Pretty much I think my fave song from the album. It was the very last song he played on the weekend at the gig I got to see, kind-of new slide guitar version of the track. So to say the least I love his stuff and was the very first band and album he did. With off course Chris Bailey on vocals, co-songwriter on five tracks, Ed wrote three by himself, two covers finished off the album one was an under rated Aussie band called The Missing Links with Wild About You and Kissin’ Cousins is an old 60’s song. Rhythm section was then the bass player Kym Bradshaw and drummer Ivor Hay.

I don’t know what I could possibly add to what has already been said and written about The Saints? With out a doubt the greatest full-on non-stop punk album ever made. Amazing it taken this long to add it here but I do stuff about a lot, don’t I? I like to point the title track was pretty much the first ever punk single, if you didn’t know? It was DIY 7″ single in 1976 unlike the English and Americans bands who sign to big labels before releasing anything, then again EMI did sign The Saints pretty quick after that. Recorded the whole album over just two days with ten songs, it’s just got to be one of the most prefect albums ever made. I’m far from the very first to included it in greatest albums list but then again it’s not a total house hold name like say Ramones and Sex Pistols.

That’s live clip above from back in the back in the late 70’s which does shows how full tilt they were at the time. Just makes me wish I was around so I could have witness it first hand, you know? From Brisbane, Queensland formed somewhere around mid-70’s. I’ll just also point out Ed lasted two more albums with The Saints before leaving to form his next band Laughing Clowns in about 1980 and that’s who my pervious post is about, you know?

So below a SBS doco about the band and album tilted Australia Classic Albums, they made seven other docos about some other great Aussie albums/bands but this one is the best because it’s album I love the most out of all of them they did. I don’t know why they didn’t make any more? I was thinking at the time it was going to continue forever. The best bits are off course are Ed and Chris talking about it all but the who’s who of Aussie rock all make cameos too.

(I’m) Stranded track listing and times:

1. (I’m) Stranded – 3:25
2. One Way Street – 2:54
3. Wild About You – 2:38
4. Messin’ With The Kid – 6:05
5. Erotic Neurotic – 4:11
6. No Time – 2:45
7. Kissin’ Cousins – 2:04
8. Story Of Love – 3:14
9. Demolition Girl – 1:45
10. Nights In Venice – 5:49

5747934-1x1-700x700

Here’s my Classic Albums posts tagged link and the full list is below, off course it’s a work in progress:

Tales From The Australian Underground: Volume 1 & 2 by Various Artists
Station To Station by David Bowie
Unplugged In New York by Nirvana
Rust In Peace by Megadeth
Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs by Marty Robbins
Henry’s Dream by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
Whatever You Love, You Are by Dirty Three
Gala Mill by The Drones
Black Monk Time by The Monks
Ex Tropical by Lost Animal
Work (Work, Work) by HTRK
In The Wee Small Hours by Frank Sinatra
The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn by Pink Floyd
Songs Of Love And Hate by Leonard Cohen
Warm Leatherette by Grace Jones
The White House by The Dead C
Silence Is Sexy by Einstürzende Neubauten
Lulu by Lou Reed & Metallica
Kaira by Toumani Diabaté
Kings Of The Wild Frontier by Adam And The Ants
Drowning In The Fountain Of Youth by Dan Kelly And The Alpha Males
Aerial by Kate Bush
The Future by Leonard Cohen
Rock For Light by Bad Brains
Last Splash by The Breeders
Sex by The Necks
Emergency Ward by Nina Simone
Paradise by My Disco
Batman by Prince
Sings Christmas Carols by Mark Kozelek
What Are Rock Stars Doing Today by Magic Dirt
Love Of Life by Swans
Big Name, No Blankets by Warumpi Band
Blue Valentine by Tom Waits
In The Pines by The Triffids
Where Joy Kills Sorrow by Various Artists
TV Sky by The Young Gods
King For A Day, Fool For A Lifetime by Faith No More
Jean Lee And The Yellow Dog by Ed Kuepper
Law Of Nature by Laughing Clowns

So, this was the reason I started this blog. The idea is simply to write page/post about one of my fave album each that I consider a classic album. Please leave your own comments below about each album because I would love to hear what everyone think and has to say about them? Cheers!

Leave a comment

a1000mistakes

Well, I'm dyslexic so writing about something I love: Music, might help but it's most likely just full of mistakes. That title is also lyrics from The Drones song called I Don't Want To Change. Oh, my name is William and thanks for having a look.