Classic Albums: What The Sea Wants, The Sea Will Have by Sarah Blasko

Classic Albums: What The Sea Wants, The Sea Will Have by Sarah Blasko

So after more than a few days wait I gotta say it’s just got to be Sarah Blasko for my 2006 album, along with The Drones which I wrote about last year. Both Aussie albums for that year on my CA list after I’ve been sidetrack mainly doing my mixtapes blog posts for the last few days. I did say the other day I had another album for 2005/6 but since then I’ve figured out including Kanye West one I’ve already got five albums for those years so I might save that one for some later date, OK? Anyway I’m suppose to be talking about Blasko not gibbering on about my blog.

So got my Sarah ticket this week, they were on sale before so I’m a little bit up the back but I’m really looking forward to it because I’ve missed her a few times. Last year I did buy both her and The Drones tickets but they were both on the very same night and I picked them, sorry Sarah. Then missed her before that for some reason or another, I don’t remember now why?

So the very last time I did see her live was on this tour for this album which was a while ago, long time in between drinks. So does that not make me a real fan? I did find her last album a little weaker but both I Awake and Day/Night would be tied I think in second place and her debut album was a great start but it’s one I love the most. Maybe it’s because I did get to see her live at the time too but I’m not the only one who thinks it’s her “Classic Album”. Aussie radio Double j had it as their one too just a week or two ago, maybe why I put off this blog post for a little but I guess I can say “snap” today!

So it’s the second album by Sarah Blasko which was recorded in New Zealand at Neil Finn‘s studio. It’s NZ music month this month, you know so I might have to do some Kiwi artists real soon here on my blog. Sarah’s an Aussie recording in NZ so I guess it don’t really count!

The track {Explain} was in part recorded in the town I was born in, that’s Fremantle, W.A. Then one of my fave video clips of all-time is Planet New Year because she just dates and then marries her piano, it’s that great? Maybe don’t the greatest write-up toady for this album but oh well, I do love it!

So got to ask now, who else loves Blasko? Is it this album for you or is it another album or song you love the best?

What The Sea Wants, The Sea Will Have track listing and times:
All tracks written by Sarah Blasko & Robert F. Cranny.

1. For You – 5:02
2. The Garden’s End – 3:54
3. {Explain} – 4:05
4. The Albatross – 3:24
5. Planet New Year – 3:41
6. Amazing Things – 4:17
7. Always On This Line – 4:10
8. The Woman By The Well – 3:53
9. Hammer – 4:27
10. Queen Of Apology – 3:32
11. Showstopper – 3:32
12. I Could Never Belong To You – 4:21

what-the-sea-wants-the-sea-will-have-50ac89ea6b31b

All my Classic Albums posts are in that link or they’re all linked below too!

So the idea here is simply for me to write a post about each of my fave albums that I consider total stone cold classics!

Please do leave a reply below and tell me what you think about this album and/or artist or whatever you’d like to say about it?

Leave a comment

a1000mistakes

Well, I'm dyslexic so writing about something I love: Music, might help but it's most likely just full of mistakes. That title is also lyrics from The Drones song called I Don't Want To Change. Oh, my name is William and thanks for having a look.